Menu Search
View Cart

There are no items in your cart.

Crystals and Gems for Chakra Healing

Those who believe that crystals and gems have and hold energy, and can be used in healing, claim to experience significant benefit from their use.

Pin on Pinterest

Crystals and gemstones have been used for centuries in healing both the physical body and the spiritual self. As far back as the fourth millennium before Christ, mention of using gems in healing has been found in Sumerian writings and Vedic texts from India. Gems where placed on the body to either add or draw off energy, and were often ground up and added to paste or to drinks as medicine.

The idea behind using crystals and gems in healing is that the stones, being from the earth, have a natural energy that can be healing to humans and that we can “program” them with our positive intentions for healing before placing them on the client. Most people who work with crystals and gems will “clean” them before using them for healing, or release the negative energy from other people or uses. This cleaning is done by placing them under running water, burying them in the earth, or placing them in the sunlight or moonlight.

Many crystal and gem users associate certain stones with the different chakras and place the associated stones on or near each chakra to affect healing.

For example, the following stones may be used on these 7 chakras:

  1. Crown Chakra – The color is purple and amethyst. Diamond or clear quartz work well for the crown chakra.
  2. Brow Chakra – The color is indigo. Lapis lazuli or sodalite works well here.
  3. Throat Chakra – The color is blue (light blue). Turquoise, aquamarine or blue lace agate work on the throat chakra.
  4. Heart Chakra – The color is green, with pink the secondary color. Rose quartz, jade or green tourmaline work for the heart.
  5. Solar Plexus Chakra – The color is yellow. Citrine, yellow topaz and yellow sapphire may be used.
  6. Sacral Chakra – The color is orange. Citrine, carnelian and coral balance this chakra.
  7. Root Chakra – The color is red, with black a secondary color. Garnet, hematite, fire agate, red jasper and black tourmaline work on the root chakra.

Those who believe that crystals and gems have and hold energy and can be used in healing claim to experience significant benefit from their use. There have been, however, only a few attempts to generate scientific evidence that crystal healing works, but upon review most point to the placebo effect, at best. Essentially, it is currently believed that the idea of being healed with crystals is powerful enough to generate physical changes and healing. Because there are no peer-reviewed scientific studies proving the power of crystals and gems to heal, crystal healing is currently considered to be a pseudoscience.

Arnold, S (n.d.). Do crystals really work? Healing Crystals. Retrieved on 10/6/16 from

Chakra healing sounds. (n.d.). Chakra colors and stones. Chakra Healing Sounds. Retrieved on 10/7/16 from

Peschek-Bohmer, F.; Schreiber, G. (2002). Healing crystals and gemstones: From amethyst to zircon; a comprehensive listing of the therapeutic uses and healing effects of the most important crystals and gemstones. Konecky & Konecky: Old Saybrook, CT.

No Comments - be the first!
Share on Facebook Share
Share on Twitter Share

Requirements for using and reposting articles